March/April Alpine Destinations

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
logikal

March/April Alpine Destinations

by logikal » Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:29 pm

I have a window of a couple months before i start up my new job and am looking to do some alpine climbing (within the US). I am looking for routes such as the exum on the grand teton or EB on Whitney. I know the spring can be a little iffy as far as weather concerned so thats why i am reaching out to you guys. Any suggestions for routes in areas where the weather may be a little more stable?

I can lead up to 5.10d trad and WI4/WI4+. However i would prefer to keep the grades a little lower to stay within my comfort zone as i have limited experience with big mountain routes. Something with a decent approach to make it feel more remote could be fun.

As i do not have any partners commited yet if anyone is looking to do somthing along these lines let me know and we can talk logistics. I have both a trad and ice rack along with ropes and what not (no aid gear).

Thanks in advance,
matt

builttospill

by builttospill » Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:40 am

Coming from New Jersey or where? Ending up where?

If it were me, I would make it a nice long road trip, with some alpine climbing smattered about. There probably is not enough reliable, good stuff that is strictly "alpine" that I would want to spend multiple weeks in a row doing that kind of stuff. And I suspect partners will be hard to come by.

If it were me and I had your problem (wish I did.....) I would probably spend some time in Red Rocks, some time in Yosemite, and hit something in the High Sierra in between, timed for whenever the conditions looked favorable. Then maybe the Cascades? I bet there is a bunch of stuff to do up there in April that would be good.