Calcium, magnesium or potassium for stiff muscles?

Discussion of medical or rescue topics related to climbing and mountaineering.
tigerlilly

by tigerlilly » Sat Sep 18, 2010 3:16 pm

Diego,

Have you got some surgery lined up?

Diego Sahagún

by Diego Sahagún » Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:11 am

No and my doctors have not recommended it

tigerlilly

by tigerlilly » Mon Sep 20, 2010 3:28 pm

Well, I'm not a doctor. But, I'm worried about you.

**I mean, you seem to be in a great deal of pain**

Can you live with that? can you hobble along taking meds? do you WANT to?

I know three men who had surgery, all said it was the best thing they did. They don't know why they waited so long.

My husband does NOT want to go under the knife. He screwed up his back in the same location in March. He is doing better, I think. (He might be really good at hiding it.) He is doing yoga back/core strengthening excercises every morning. A professional met with him and taught him how to do the excercises properly and carefully. Yesterday he carried some furniture with me. (not smart!) Is there a physical fitness/yoga/excercise trainer in your location that could help you with some leg stretching/core strengthening excercises?

Diego Sahagún

by Diego Sahagún » Tue Sep 21, 2010 10:22 am

Dunno but I can walk in the meanwhile and I'm thinking on getting a static bycicle for exercising my legs during the treatment. I have to take to it to my home and I don't have a big enough car so I should ask somebody to let his van to me. I'm doing light neck exercises almost everyday and I'll visit my doctor on friday. He's been on holidays last week.

Thanks for your help tiger

Diego Sahagún

Re:

by Diego Sahagún » Mon Sep 27, 2010 11:10 am

Diego Sahagún wrote:My doctor has added a corticosteroid (Deflazacort) to my intake and wants me to take 600 mg / 24 h of Pregabalin. I could enter in a hospital pain unit soon. I think that joking about lettuce here is not a good idea

:(