california fourteeners

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
no avatar
ashbal

california fourteeners

by ashbal » Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:16 pm

hi,

I have been hiking for about 6 months now and I have done 5 miles, 10 miles and 20 miles Round trip hikes with the max elevation of 4000 feet (not elevation change but reached the summit at 4000 feet). I recently saw this article in wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_fourteeners and I am interested in climbing not all but most of them. So far my plan is to climb the mountains in the following order
Mt.Langley - Heard this is the easiest and most pretty
Mt.Whitney - Highest elevation
Mt.Shasta - Toughest out of the 3 because of snow

I am definitely going to do Mt.Langley first but wondering if I should attempt any other mountain (to gain endurance, confidence and strength) before climbing Mt.Whitney and Mt.Shasta. I am not particularly interested in Scenic view or anything just plain interest to conquer.

Any suggestions ?

Thanks

astrogerly

Re: california fourteeners

by astrogerly » Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:50 pm

I'd suggest starting to hike at higher elevations. Hiking at much higher elevations (like Langley and Whitney) is a much different that when you are hiking at 4000 ft. Plus there is always the chance of altitude sickness if you aren't acclimated to it...

no avatar
ashbal

by ashbal » Sat Jul 23, 2011 6:08 pm

Hi Astro,

My thoughts are exactly the same as yours, ie, to hike higher elevations. Unfortunately, I am unable to find altitudes between 4000 feet (the one that I have done) and 14K around 6 to 7 hrs drive from Sunnyvale and hence starting to do Mt.Langley. My question is based on the assumption that I wont have altitude sickness while hiking Mt.Langley. if I don't, what other fourteeners are worth hiking apart from Whitney and Shasta ?

hightinerary