Best small cams

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
AlexeyD

Best small cams

by AlexeyD » Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:23 am

With CCH out of business, what are people's thoughts on the best small-size cams currently on the market? I know Metolius TCUs are popular, but I find the double stem to be disadvantageous for small, pea pod type placements (and also easier to get stuck). Other thought?

brenta

Re: Best small cams

by brenta » Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:05 am

Actually, Aliens will be produced by Fixe and should be available in a few months. In the meanwhile, the Master Cams use the same lobe profiles as the TCUs. I also like the C3s. I have no experience with Wired Bliss, Micro Robots, and Zeros. Totem Cams, the smallest of which is comparable to the largest C3, are not small cams, but I just noted that their prices in the US have gone down quite a bit.

no avatar
The Chief

by The Chief » Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:24 am

I also like the C3

C3's are garbage!

Sent three back to BD two weeks ago. The Trigger mechanism is made out of plastic and the trigger wire is not securely attached to the plastic retainer. Any negative pull on the lobe instantly pulls the trigger wire completely out of and off the plastic ring and that is all she wrote.

Had that happen to all three of my C3's, brand new mind you, on my first outing with them.

Chinese junk.

Best, strongest and easiest to place in more situ's than you could imagine small cam out there and has been for over two decades:

The following user would like to thank The Chief for this post
FRhoderick

Autoxfil

by Autoxfil » Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:36 pm

AlexeyD wrote:With CCH out of business, what are people's thoughts on the best small-size cams currently on the market? I know Metolius TCUs are popular, but I find the double stem to be disadvantageous for small, pea pod type placements (and also easier to get stuck). Other thought?