Souther California Mountaineering Courses?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
no avatar
Stockwell

Souther California Mountaineering Courses?

by Stockwell » Mon Oct 17, 2011 6:57 am

Hey all,

For the past 7 months I have been preparing to begin my adventures as a mountaineer. I have been hiking throughout all of San Diego county and will be finishing off this season with a trip up to San Jacinto Peak via Marion Mountain Trail. Should be glorious :D

Feeling that I am fit enough to attempt some larger climbs this winter I have come across a problem. I have no experience in Snow Travel/Crampon/Ice Axe/Snow Shoe use... :x

A guided service I'm sure is my best bet to learn the basics, although I am not really sure if some good books and just going for it with some common sense in my pack if I'll do just fine. Either way I have yet to come across a guided service offering climbs during Winter/Spring for the mountains in Southern California. Specifically Mount San Gorgonio and possibly Mount San Antonio (Baldy).

These would be great for me I'm sure as this upcoming April I will be applying in the Whitney Lottery. :P

If any exist I am dying to learn about them as my attempts have failed.

Happy Fall,

Stockwell

no avatar
bawsd

Re: Souther California Mountaineering Courses?

by bawsd » Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:07 pm

Last year SMI did a class at Baldy in February. You can check with them to see if they're doing it again: http://sierramountaineering.com/

California Alpine Guides has some options in Sequoia: http://www.californiaalpineguides.com/alpine.html

Lots of guided options if you can get up to Bishop or elsewhere on the Eastside.

I think last year one of the LA mountaineering groups put a class together, but I don't have any info (and could be mis-remembering)--sorry.

DukeJH

by DukeJH » Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:18 pm