Need help buying serous mountaineering pants

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
Oceansnz

Need help buying serous mountaineering pants

by Oceansnz » Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:54 pm

Hi, thanks for looking, I'm needing advice about getting a pair of pants that are versatile and more "serious".

Situation(s):
I plan to join an expedition on some 6000m+ mountains in the Andes next Jan/Feb. Would like to feel confident if weather also takes a turn for the worst. Temperatures could get quite cold, but also could be warm in the sun with the heat reflecting off the snow. Also, I will climb 2000M-3000m ranges over 6 days with the odd day of rain here in Japan.

I have no experience at altitudes higher than 3000m and I usually climb in Spring, Summer, Autumn. I currently only have some very light Marmot water resistant pants, not good in very cold temperatures or rain.

This is my thinking so far:

•Get Gore-Tex pro shell pants and go for a Layering system.(I'm not keen on insulated pants).
•Will need to wear crampons at some point.
•Side vents preferred.
•Wind proof/water proof (Gore-tex/eVent) seems a logical need.
•Really prefer pants that are lighter than 600 grams.

I like the Mammut Sturdy Pants but they weight 960 grams.

Any pants to recommend or pointers in the right direction?

any comments/suggestions/experienced p.o.v's appreciated!

Baarb

Re: Need help buying serous mountaineering pants

by Baarb » Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:52 pm

Do you know which mountains you'll be on in Bolivia and more specifically what you''ll be doing there? I'm not clued into the latest gear myself but imagine that mentioning some more details would help enthusiasts point you in the right direction. Cheers.

The following user would like to thank Baarb for this post
Oceansnz

drpw

by drpw » Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:56 pm

get bibs.

The following user would like to thank drpw for this post
Oceansnz

Oceansnz

by Oceansnz » Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:13 pm