Sleeping Bag

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
j4ever

Sleeping Bag

by j4ever » Fri Mar 30, 2012 12:36 am

I liked to get some recommendations for a 0 degree sleeping bag,i know i can search and compare but would really like to hear from everyones experience,i am looking at Marmot Lithium +0 sleeping bag,just under 3 pounds and 850 fill goose down but at 500 bucks not sure i want to pay that much. Be for Mountains like Shasta,Rainier,Aconcagua,i have a 15 degree bag that i used on shasta once but would like something just a little warmer. Thanks.

ExcitableBoy

Re: Sleeping Bag

by ExcitableBoy » Fri Mar 30, 2012 12:43 am

Western Mountaineering and Feathered Friends make the best bags. You could actually get a lighter bag (maybe +10) that would be as warm as a Marmot 0. FWIW, I have used my WM Apache Super Dryloft rated to +15 on Shasta, Ranier (including multiple winter ascents) Mt Hunter, Mt Barille, Pk 11,300, Mt Dickey, and the Mooses Tooth in AK in spring.

radson

by radson » Fri Mar 30, 2012 1:40 am

Kai

by Kai » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:30 am

Marmot Lithium is worth the $$$.

Terrific bag, with enough room inside that you can wear warm clothing in the bag so that you can push the temperature even lower.

I have one and love it.

no avatar
mconnell

by mconnell » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:24 pm

Kai brings up a good point. I have a Feathered Friends 10 degree bag (Lark). I love the bag, but I wouldn't use it on Aconcagua. The bag is cut very tight and does not have enough room to wear much warm clothing. No matter which bag you get, make sure that it has some extra space in it if you are going to use it as an expedition bag.

As for which bag is the "best", I don't see a huge difference. I have used FF bags for 15 years, and used to sell Marmot bags. Not a lot of difference in quality.

radson

by radson » Fri Mar 30, 2012 7:52 pm