Geology,...interesting or incredibly boring ???

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
obsidian

Geology,...interesting or incredibly boring ???

by obsidian » Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:26 pm

I'm new to Summit Post,...so, you'll have to excuse this bizarre tangent,...
Are any of you people interested in the Geology of the rocks/mountains which you climb,...or, is it just the thrill of a near-death experience ???
...I'm thinking of posting a page about geology,...unless, of course,...this inquiry gets an ugly backlash,...
Tell the Truth,...I can handle it,...

sharperblue

Re: Geology,...interesting or incredibly boring ???

by sharperblue » Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:41 pm

How can you pull on a piece of granite plate stegosaurus skin at the Buttermilks or hold a foot long crystal from the slopes of Mount Baldwin or climbing through the furrows pitches on Charlotte Dome without marvelling at the amazing geology of the Sierra range (amongst others)- ?

I'd love to see an article on this topic! Be sure to drop a line for Mary Hill's 'Geology of the Sierra Nevada' book - it's a truly spectacular book, and climbers will have the pleasure of reading about some of their favorite (and more obscure) haunts from a professional geologist's perspective

obsidian

by obsidian » Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:58 pm

Yeah,...I feel the same way.

I'm in the middle of reading it now...That's actually what got me to thinking about geology.
...But,...there are a number of highly technical articles available on the internet, descibing the entire Plate-Subduction/Batholith Genesis process. The language is incredibly obtuse,...but, the story is fascinating.
...It's kinda like virtual Time-Travelling,...
Last edited by obsidian on Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:11 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Scott
Forum Moderator

by Scott » Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:59 pm