Min. Temp for Hunker Down Jacket?

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
PeteF

Min. Temp for Hunker Down Jacket?

by PeteF » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:53 am

Hello, my name is Pete, I've just joined the forum, and hope people here will be able to answer my noob questions :D

After many weeks of trawling through boards etc trying to find information I think it's best to now simply stick my virtual hand up and ask for advice/opinions. I'm an ex-ski instructor so have plenty of experience with cold, but I feel there's a massive difference between being out in it for the day and going back home for a nice hot shower v being out in it 24/7 for 3 weeks. In November I'm planning a trek to Nepal to climb Mera Peak, this is my first introduction to high altitude "climbing" and learning to use crampons etc etc.

I'm just going through my gear, looking at what I may have that is suitable and what I'll need to purchase. All of the climbing specific gear I'll use the trekking company's except my own harness I have already. I'd like to post a gear list in full later, but for the moment I'm looking at my Mountain Hardwear Hunker Jacket, and wonder if this will be warm enough? My intention was to layer with my Icebreaker shirt, fleece, the Hunker jacket and a (yet to be purchased) shell. For the bottom polyprop long-johns, fleece pants, and my gore-tex shell pants.

I simply can't find any information on the recommended minimum temperature for that Hunker jacket, or even a fill weight, so I'm hoping someone here may be able to help? Good down jackets are expensive so I don't want to buy another one just for a giggle, nor however do I want to roll up dressed for the beach!

Thanks in advance for the help.

Pete

adventurer

Re: Min. Temp for Hunker Down Jacket?

by adventurer » Tue Jul 17, 2012 11:38 am