Total Beginners needing some advice

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
pvnisher

Re: Total Beginners needing some advice

by pvnisher » Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:51 am

Mattski wrote:Meh- Lots of people die because so many people climb it... the drive there will be more dangerous .

Yes, a lot of people climb Mont Blanc, which contributes to the overall numbers. But many of those people also underestimate it, which is the real reason for the deaths.

colinr

by colinr » Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:03 am

OK, Scylla, you are sounding sincere and reasonable. Sorry for suggesting you may be trolling, but the bragging rights comment and the flames symbol struck me as odd, especially for total beginners. You can go for one of the peaks you mentioned with some training and conditioning beforehand and surpass my best efforts on your first peak with good fortune.

Some of the ones you mentioned might be pretty dull and simple, but others dangerous or difficult for 8 newcomers to all summit.
Karl Pilkington managed Mt. Fuji, and had other adventures along the way:

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gKDjO_DiuT8[/youtube]