How many days to climb Aconcagua?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for South America. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the South American Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
cfrun02

How many days to climb Aconcagua?

by cfrun02 » Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:39 am

Hey everyone!!
I am in need of some good advice. I know the "average" climb for Aconcagua is about 20 days. However, how long do you think an experienced hiker and fit (marathoner) person could finish the complete climb?? I am asking because i am a teacher and i would love the attempt the climb over Christmas break. I have 14 days total to travel and climb. Is that at all possible!! I am coming from Chicago. Thank you in advance!!

Creston

ExcitableBoy

Re: How many days to climb Aconcagua?

by ExcitableBoy » Fri Jun 14, 2013 4:35 pm

The problem is not fitness, it is how quickly your body acclimatizes, a process which takes time yo-yoing up and down the mountain. That said, there are some ways to cut down the time. I ran into a French party who were able to climb Denali in 8 days round trip from the Kahiltna air strip without prior acclimatization by taking Diamox prophylactically.

I climbed Rainier once with a fellow who climbed Aconcagua, airport to airport in 60 hours. He had previously climbed Everest and Lhotse with only a single bottle of supplemental oxygen. He is sponsored by Hypoxico http://www.hypoxico.com/, a company that makes tents and masks which simulate high altitude (low air pressure). Brian would exercise with the mask which would pre-acclimate him.

<cautionary note>