Disappointment Cleaver in early September

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Washington and Oregon. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Pacific Northwest Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
jc275

Disappointment Cleaver in early September

by jc275 » Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:38 am

Greetings, I'm new to this site so I'll start off by introducing myself. My name is Joel and I'm a beginner/novice climber. I've received training in setting up hoist systems, rappelling, belaying, using ascenders and SOME climbing. My experience on glaciers is limited to several trips up to Camp Muir and Ingraham Flats on Mt. Rainier. I've climbed some of the peaks in the Olympics, which included some nice exposure to snowfields. I also grew up in Alaska and am familiar with gauging avalanche conditions, though by no means an expert.

Some buddies from work and I are looking to summit Mt. Rainier sometime during the first two weeks of September. I noticed that RMI still guides climbs on the DC route during this time, which is a good sign. However, I've been tracking the conditions this summer, and it seems like the route has become very exposed. I have full confidence in the groups' good judgment and abilities (we all have similar training and varying experience backgrounds). Our group leader is a very experienced climber and is also an instructor, so no worries there. My main concern is for this season, are we attempting a summit too late? I realize weather is always a factor, especially in September, but how deteriorated can we expect the DC route to be? If anyone has recently been up there, or has climbed Rainier in September in the past I'd like to hear your input!

Looking forward to lurking around the forums and taking in advice from the more experienced members, thanks!

no avatar
jc275

Re: Disappointment Cleaver in early September

by jc275 » Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:35 am