Mount Hood in mid-October: conditions and routes

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Washington and Oregon. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Pacific Northwest Climbing Partners section.
Jarpup

Mount Hood in mid-October: conditions and routes

by Jarpup » Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:02 pm

Hi all,
First: I did a search to see if there were similar questions posted, but didn't find any. If this is a repeat, though, my apologies.

I'll be in Portland in the middle of October and would love to get over and climb Mount Hood. So first: can anyone share their experiences climbing Hood in October (snow conditions, weather, rock fall, etc)? Second, what route recommendations would you make this time of year? It's my first time on Hood so I'm looking for more conservative routes (no pro needed, but suitable for ice axe/tool and crampon use). I'm a mid-level climber, and pretty conservative.

I really appreciate any local beta. Thank you!

Chris

ExcitableBoy

Re: Mount Hood in mid-October: conditions and routes

by ExcitableBoy » Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:24 pm

Generally speaking, by October the volcanoes are at their lowest snow levels. On Hood this is important as the mountain is a huge pile of choss. Winter snow and ice are the only things holding the mountain together. After the snow and ice melts, there is nothing holding the 'rock' together and rockfall becomes a huge issue.

That said, this fall has been wet and cold and lots of snow has already fallen. It is conceivable that enough snow would have fallen and the weather would have been cold enough to create reasonable conditions by mid October. If there has been enough melt-freeze cycles and the weather decent for your trip, it may be ok.