First Youth Backpacking Trip

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the U.S. Rocky Mountains. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Colorado Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
climbingcowboy

First Youth Backpacking Trip

by climbingcowboy » Mon May 26, 2014 10:12 am

I'm new to CO coming from Flagstaff AZ. I'm taking my 8 year old son on his first backpacking trip in July. We'll be leaving out of Denver area. I was thinking of packing into a cool lake and spending 2-3 nights kicking back and hiking around from there to check out stuff, instead of packing up the tent each day. But wouldn't be opposed to a 2-3 night with stopping twice if its a loop. Don't really want to have to hike more then 4-6 hours a day since this is his first I want it to be fun and relaxing not having to push it each day. We're regular outdoorsman hunting/hiking/skiing. Taking the hounds along also. Elevation isn't to big of deal since we're used to living at 7000'

Thank in advance
Geoff

Matt Lemke

Re: First Youth Backpacking Trip

by Matt Lemke » Tue May 27, 2014 5:04 am

Can you bring dogs into wilderness areas? If not you reduce your list of potential places dramatically and the list of Colorado's most beautiful places you can visit essentially drops to zero.

Bill Reed

by Bill Reed » Tue May 27, 2014 4:40 pm

Matt Lemke wrote:Can you bring dogs into wilderness areas? If not you reduce your list of potential places dramatically and the list of Colorado's most beautiful places you can visit essentially drops to zero.

Though there could be some, I'm not aware of any non-national park wilderness areas in the state that don't allow dogs. Rocky Mountain NP does not allow dogs on any trails.