North Cascades climbs in September

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Washington and Oregon. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Pacific Northwest Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
adamas_it

North Cascades climbs in September

by adamas_it » Mon Feb 16, 2015 5:34 pm

I will visit the North Cascades area around the middle of September and was planning to do some of the classical climbs there, possibly with a guide since I will travel on my own.

What are the climbs usually still in condition at that time of the year? do you have a guiding service to suggest?
I have some mountaineering experience in the Alps (up to PD+/AD routes), though often with a mountain guide, and basic sport climbing skills (5b-5c French grade).

Thanks.

ExcitableBoy

Re: North Cascades climbs in September

by ExcitableBoy » Mon Feb 16, 2015 6:28 pm

September is typically great for alpine rock, as many of the big, glaciated climbs have gone out of season. This year that may be especially so. Some alpine climbs will still in shape.

Some ideas:

Mt Shuksan, Fisher Chimneys or North Face. Alpine climb, will involve ice and rock climbing

Washington Pass: Liberty Bell, South Early Winter Spire, North Early Winter Spire, Big Kangaroo, Half Moon, Burgundy Spire, Juno Tower, Chianti Spire. Many good choices for a variety of abilities.

Forbidden Peak, North Ridge, NW Face, West Ridge. Alpine rock with glaciers on the North side routes.

Mt Baker, Coleman-Demming or Easton Glacier. Glacier routes still in shape most years

If you want to go south a little bit to the Enchantments that opens up a bunch of possibilities as well:

Mt Stuart, North Ridge, Colchuck Peak, NE Buttress, Dragontail Peak, Serpentine Arete or Backbone Ridge, Prusik Peak, West Ridge or South Face are all good choices.