Need life advice! Great life but I'm wilderness starved

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar
Whisky Alarm

Need life advice! Great life but I'm wilderness starved

by Whisky Alarm » Mon Aug 31, 2015 9:19 pm

Please welcome my first post on SummitPost. I’ve been a reader of trip reports for a long time. I really need some advice from similar-minded outdoor enthusiasts:

The shorter version: I live on the east coast near a pretty big city with a family, job, house, and overall living situation that is all that I could ever ask for. I’m very happy. However, I lived in a perfect little rocky mountain town a couple years when I was in college, but I struggled to find a way to make a good living there so I spread my roots back east. But I don’t really feel like I belong here and I miss that place SO much. I think about it every day sometimes to the point where my stomach feels sick. My first few years as a teacher I would go back and spend the summers there which was the perfect combination of the best of both worlds, but now with a wife and kid I can’t do that anymore. My wife and I currently go out there 1-2 weeks each summer. She loves it as well. I need to either find a way to spend more time out there (and hopefully quench the need to be there) or accept the reality that I live where I live and stop thinking about being there all the time.

Do I stop going back and just try to move on with my life?
Do I try to rearrange my life to spend MORE time out there (I have several weeks off and 10 weeks in the summer)?