3+5 days around Denver, what to do

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the U.S. Rocky Mountains. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Colorado Climbing Partners section.
damgaard

3+5 days around Denver, what to do

by damgaard » Mon Sep 07, 2015 8:20 pm

Hi,

I am Danish Viking sailing into Denver for a 3 day conference. I will have approx. 3 days before and 5 days after the conference that can be spent in the mountains.
Does anybody have suggestions on where to go and peaks to climb?

I have lots of experience (I climbed Shasta and Hood on a previous trip to the US, and have climbed a lot of European summits), but since I will be going solo, I am looking for something that is not more difficult than scrambling. I am living at sea level but after some days in the mountains 14.000 feet summits should be doable.
I'll be travelling light, so sadly no backcountry overnight trips, Unless there is a place in the area, that have huts like in the Alps, so you can stay overnight without hauling 20 kg of tent, stove, sleeping bag etc. up there? If no huts, the trips should be doable in a day, but I like long days, so 4.500 feet of ascend and 10 hours is ok.

I'll be going between Sept. 17th and 26th.

best regards Jesper

ExcitableBoy

Re: 3+5 days around Denver, what to do

by ExcitableBoy » Mon Sep 07, 2015 8:59 pm

This probably won't apply as I assume you are among the living:

"I called up my friend LeRoy on the phone
I said, Buddy, I'm afraid to be alone
'Cause I got some weird ideas in my head
About things to do in Denver when you're dead

I was working on a steak the other day
And I saw Waddy in the Rattlesnake Cafe
Dressed in black, tossing back a shot of rye
Finding things to do in Denver when you die

You won't need a cab to find a priest
Maybe you should find a place to stay
Some place where they never change the sheets
And you just roll around Denver all day

LeRoy says there's something you should know
Not everybody has a place to go