Rock Climbing Proficiency for Mountaineering

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
sgenise

Rock Climbing Proficiency for Mountaineering

by sgenise » Thu Dec 03, 2015 4:17 am

Hello all!

My girlfriend and I are new to the world of mountaineering, but incredibly excited to learn. We've signed up for a few classes this winter on snow camping, glacier travel, and ice axe/crampon use, and we're hoping to test our mettle this spring and summer on a couple of snow-covered mountains in California, hopefully culminating in a guided climb of Shasta in the summer.

However, while she is also a very capable rock climber, I am a complete novice. I do a small amount of bouldering maybe once every couple of weeks, but the best I can manage at the moment is a V2. If our primary interest is in alpine climbing and glaciated peaks like Rainier, Baker, Denali (in a number of years of course), what level of rock climbing should I be comfortable with? I know some proficiency will be important on certain peaks that require ascending through a rock chute or two, but what do those typically rate at?

Also, is there any roughly-accurate way to translate the bouldering V-scale to YDS? The only nearby rock gym is a bouldering gym, and as a result I haven't done any regular climbing in years. I've read that a V2 is about a 5.8-5.10, but that seems way too high, considering some of the 5.10 routes I've seen outside of the gym.

One final question that is purely for my own curiosity (and may sound ridiculous to a seasoned climber, I have no idea)-- what is does the Hillary Step rate at on the YDS?

Thanks!

Fletch

Re: Rock Climbing Proficiency for Mountaineering

by Fletch » Thu Dec 03, 2015 6:19 am