Ptarmigan Traverse

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Washington and Oregon. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Pacific Northwest Climbing Partners section.
NickBadyrka

Ptarmigan Traverse

by NickBadyrka » Fri Apr 17, 2015 3:21 am

Couple of questions for those of you with experience with the Ptarmigan Traverse. My daughter has finally expressed an interest in going mountaineering and we have tentative plans to do the traverse North to South around the third week of July this year. A little background might be in order, so that responses are appropriate. I have been mountaineering and rock climbing for over forty years including several seasons guiding both rock and mountain routes. My daughter has almost no mountaineering experience, but has done several very long backpacks and has rock climbed at a very respectable level(5.12sport, 5.10trad) We are planning to do several volcanoes prior so that she can learn snow, ice and glacier techniques. On to my questions...
1) This being a pretty dry year, is it likely to be in condition in mid -July?
2) How extensively crevased are the glaciers? As big as Rainier? Or More like Hood? (We are a team of two and I out weigh her by 60 pounds)
3) How reasonable is it to ride a bike back to the car from the southern trailhead?

Thank you.

ExcitableBoy

Re: Ptarmigan Traverse

by ExcitableBoy » Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:19 pm

Fair warning, I have not done the entire Ptarmigan Traverse, only the four most northern peaks, so others will be better able to speak intelligently about the southern part. Here is a trip report that I found to be very informative. http://cascadeclimbers.com/forum/ubbthr ... er=1128888

NickBadyrka wrote: This being a pretty dry year, is it likely to be in condition in mid -July?

Yes
NickBadyrka wrote:
2) How extensively crevased are the glaciers? As big as Rainier? Or More like Hood? (We are a team of two and I out weigh her by 60 pounds)