Report Bugs Here

Suggestions and comments about SummitPost's features, policies, and procedures. Post bugs here.
User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Thanked: 1017 times in 629 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Josh Lewis » Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:19 pm

Norman wrote:I use bing explorer... I think.


I'm pretty sure you were using internet explorer. Perhaps with Bing as your homepage (they are both owned by Microsoft). I did a search and couldn't find a "bing explorer". :wink:

Norman wrote:Chrome has installed on my computer somehow.


Probably when you installed some other program it came with it. Companies pay other companies to include "extras" to promote their brand. Indeed sneaky.

Norman wrote:When go to summitpost from my "favorites" in Bing or is it internet explorer... I get my ugly profile facepage, but not a sign in page.


It's internet explorer. You went from the site bing to summitpost. I am also assuming your favorite link has the url for your profile page rather than the homepage of SummitPost. For the login, either click the link at the top or view this link. Be sure to check "Keep me logged in all the time" so that you don't have to login every time.

Norman wrote:Today I just tried the other...like I said I think it is Chrome and went to summitpost then sign in button and here I am. this is good, but I don't really know what I am doing or why things have changed for me. Any help appreciated.


Do yourself a favor and don't use internet explorer. You will save time, it will be easier to work with, less errors, better page styling, and the list goes on. Personally I favor FireFox. But Google Chrome is pretty good too. So in the future, could you describe what it is your having an issue with? For example "I cannot find the login page" or "It won't remember me when logging in" or "It won't even login".

User Avatar
Diego Sahagún

 
Posts: 14449
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2001 6:21 pm
Thanked: 719 times in 660 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Diego Sahagún » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:51 pm

Cleared
Last edited by Diego Sahagún on Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Thanked: 1017 times in 629 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Josh Lewis » Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:14 am

I don't see how that has any relevance to this thread. I don't have a thing to do with that site. If your asking me, either start a thread in off route or contact me in private. :wink:

The following user would like to thank Josh Lewis for this post
Diego Sahagún

User Avatar
mrchad9

 
Posts: 4509
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:01 am
Thanked: 1326 times in 902 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by mrchad9 » Fri May 10, 2013 10:30 pm

Yeah I don't think that has ever worked. Either just change your profile image to what you want, or if you don't want to have a profile image you need to delete your current profile image from the image page.

If you'd rather not delete the image (presumably because you are very attractive in it), then upload any jpg you don't care about, make it your profile image, and then delete it.

User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Thanked: 1017 times in 629 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Josh Lewis » Sat May 11, 2013 4:47 am

Here is a work around that might work: Go to an image you uploaded (new or old) and click the link "Make This My Profile Image" so that you have a new profile image. Then try deleting the old profile picture with the delete link on the page rather than on the profile that says "Delete User Image". I haven't had too much trouble deleting images from SummitPost myself.

User Avatar
mrchad9

 
Posts: 4509
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:01 am
Thanked: 1326 times in 902 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by mrchad9 » Mon May 13, 2013 5:36 pm

That's what I just said Josh.

User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Thanked: 1017 times in 629 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Josh Lewis » Tue May 14, 2013 12:55 am

No it isn't. :wink: I'm sure your intentions were the same as mine, but you did not explain that in details.

mrchad9 wrote:If you'd rather not delete the image (presumably because you are very attractive in it), then upload any jpg you don't care about, make it your profile image, and then delete it.


I see no reason to have to delete an image to change your profile pic. Further more you failed to mention the link to make it your profile image (although for you and I this is obvious).

User Avatar
Bob Burd
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4240
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2001 10:42 pm
Thanked: 551 times in 287 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Bob Burd » Tue May 14, 2013 1:28 am

You guys sound like some old married folks I know.
Just sayin'

The following user would like to thank Bob Burd for this post
Josh Lewis

User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Thanked: 1017 times in 629 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Josh Lewis » Tue May 14, 2013 1:33 am

:lol: True that.

User Avatar
Klenke

 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 4:14 pm
Thanked: 17 times in 13 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Klenke » Fri May 17, 2013 7:18 am

Greek symbols:

For page submissions (i.e., not the forums)....

The new editor doesn't appear to do them right.
The old editor does them right.

The new editor makes it look like this:
<b>Φ</b>
The old editor like this:
Φ

The same seems to go for subscripting <sub> and superscripting <sup>. The old editor has to be used.

User Avatar
Klenke

 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 4:14 pm
Thanked: 17 times in 13 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Klenke » Sat May 18, 2013 6:06 am

And for god's sakes, put a delete button on the TOP of the page in the Inbox and Sentbox pages! (Like, above the Go button or something.)

User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Thanked: 1017 times in 629 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Josh Lewis » Sat May 18, 2013 9:53 am

In the new editor if you want to make the Φ symbol look like the old one, highlight it and hit the bold button. That ought to do it.

The PM system in general could use some updates. Certainly not bad, but is probably 10 years old.

User Avatar
Klenke

 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 4:14 pm
Thanked: 17 times in 13 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Klenke » Sat May 18, 2013 5:23 pm

I looked again at this.

It appears what happens is the edit doesn't take effect when saving (submitting the changes) the first time but does take effect when opening up the editor and saving it the second time (w/o even doing any changes to the text).

Example:
If I type in the string F<sup>D</sup> I'm supposed to get an F with a superscript D after it.
If I save that string, the result (after submitting the change) is only the string repeated back, i.e., "F<sup>D</sup>"
If I then go back into the editor and choose to use the old editor, that string is replaced with: F&lt;sup&gt;D&lt;/sup&gt;
If I save again (w/o doing any changes), the correct form appears F with the superscripted D.

The intermediate step using the old editor is not necessary. It just appears it takes the new editor two save cycles to make it appear correctly. This effect happens for Greek letters too.

Can it be fixed to have it show the correct form after the first save cycle?

User Avatar
surgent

 
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:45 pm
Thanked: 141 times in 78 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by surgent » Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:24 am

I went to tweak my Mohawk Mountain page, http://www.summitpost.org/mohawk-mountain/272442.

I clicked on the "Nearby Mountains and Rocks" link, and about 30 peaks show up, from Italy to France to Washington to Tibet, all 23.09 miles from Mohawk Mountain, which is in southwest Arizona.

I noticed all of these pages have the same erroneous lat and long figure entered, yet they come from many different authors, so it can't be a case of someone re-using the boilerplate from one page to start another.

The pages are older, which may be a carry-over effect from SP1. I am guessing some default lat and long were entered into these fields, and the original authors never changed them.

Scott

User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Thanked: 1017 times in 629 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Josh Lewis » Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:30 am

Yup, the authors never updated their default position. Personally I don't think the coordinates should be saved to the Data Base until the map is moved when plotting the position.

PreviousNext

Return to Site Feedback

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests