Using two sleeping bags in cold weather

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
Andrew Rankine

Using two sleeping bags in cold weather

by Andrew Rankine » Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:15 am

I am going to Aconcagua late in season (late February to early March), and was told to get a -20 degree F sleeping bag. I have a Mountain Hardwear Ultralamina 0 degree bag, and I don't really want to buy an expensive -20 sleeping bag that I might not use much. I have a rectangular 40 degree bag from Golite, and was thinking of using it with the Ultralamina instead of buying a new bag. I also will have synthetic insulated pants, synthetic insulated jacket, powerstretch baselayer, and down parka to sleep in if it were really cold.

Is using two bags a good idea, and Aconcagua is it really necessary with the kit I have? Thanks!

WyomingSummits

Re: Using two sleeping bags in cold weather

by WyomingSummits » Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:31 am

I've slept in -20 with a +20 degree bag and been fine with a down jacket and insulated pants on a Big Agnes air pad insulated with Primaloft. Was very cozy, but I tend to run hot.

The following user would like to thank WyomingSummits for this post
Andrew Rankine

Dave B

by Dave B » Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:59 pm

I think Aconcagua is the best mountain for a combo bag system. The approach hike tends to be pretty warm and a -20 bag will have you sweating at night. I took a zero degree bag and a 25 degree bag. I slept in the 25 degree bag on the approach, the zero degree bag at Plaza Argentina (and then again at Plaza de Mulas) and then slept in both of them at 16,000 and again at 19,000 at White Rocks.

no avatar
mtnjim

by mtnjim » Wed Dec 18, 2013 5:42 pm