How do you prevent your drinking water from freezing?

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
NiallK

How do you prevent your drinking water from freezing?

by NiallK » Tue Nov 05, 2019 1:42 pm

I was wondering how everyone prevents their drinking water from freezing while out in extremely cold conditions. I've read some methods online but wanted to know what peoples real experiences are with keeping their water warm.

For full disclosure I'm a design student with 4 years experience looking at creating a hydration product to be used specifically in below freezing conditions and would love to hear your thoughts!

ZeeJay
Forum Moderator

Re: How do you prevent your drinking water from freezing?

by ZeeJay » Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:06 pm

It depends upon how cold it is and how long you are going to be out there. For single day drips of length less than 8 hours and down to -20F, but warming to 0ish, starting with a nalgene of boiling water and using an old thick wool sock to insulate it is all you need and is relatively light weight. This assumes of course, that the bottle is in your pack and your pack is next to you and your pack is car temp to start with. For longer trips I also bring a thermos for the very end of the day.

Scott
Forum Moderator

by Scott » Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:02 pm

ExcitableBoy

by ExcitableBoy » Sat Nov 09, 2019 3:19 am

I use OR water bottle cozies. If you are considering designing something, I would think a cozy using 25mm Evazotte foam would be the ticket. For hydration bladders you could make an envelope and tube from 6mm neoprene.

Colin Haley used bubble wrap to keep his bladders from freezing during his one day solo ascent of the North Buttress of Mt. Begguya in Alaska, which worked for him.

nartreb

by nartreb » Thu Nov 14, 2019 8:41 pm

"Keeping it warm" and "keeping it from freezing" are two different things. Drinking barely-above-freezing water is awful.