Where do I start?

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar
brochill

Where do I start?

by brochill » Fri May 07, 2010 3:23 am

Hey guys,
I'm looking to get into some mountaineering, but I really don't know where to start. I have plenty of backpacking experience, but I'd like to get into some more technical stuff. The last thing I wanna do is start with the whole guided deal, however. I like to be as self-sufficient as possible, and I don't have the money for thousand dollar 'drag my ass up' ascents. But, I don't wanna be the yahoo who does something solo with zero experience and makes CNN. I also don't know anybody who has any climbing experience. Hell, it's hard enough to get people to go hiking.

Are there any particularly good courses or mountains to cut my teeth on? I was looking at a winter ascent of Mt. Washington next year with a buddy. Is that out of reach for people with no experience?

Thanks in advance.

no avatar
Dan Shorb

Re: Where do I start?

by Dan Shorb » Fri May 07, 2010 5:48 am

brochill wrote:Hey guys,
I'm looking to get into some mountaineering, but I really don't know where to start. I have plenty of backpacking experience, but I'd like to get into some more technical stuff.

I'll chime in here.

I'd like to preface my tidbit with one key concept, and that is that mountaineering (or climbing for that matter) is just hiking. 'Hiking' is actually used as a slang term by climbers meaning 'climbing extremely quickly over harder terrain.' (e.g. Dude, he totally just hiked that 5.10) This points to the idea that one of the most important things to do to learn is to get more and more comfortable with 'hiking' harder and harder and harder terrain.

Another thing to keep in mind is that climbing has two main sets of skills:
1. the movements and body knowledge, and
2. the 'protection' skills.