Sixth annual free Mount Si trail race set for Sunday, April 19, 2020

Sixth annual free Mount Si trail race set for Sunday, April 19, 2020

Page Type Page Type: Article

Sixth annual free Mount Si trail race set for Sunday, April 19

NORTH BEND, Wash. – The 2020 Si of Relief Climb for Time - the annual four-mile race up #MountSi near #NorthBend is set for Sunday, April 19, 2020.

Top finishers of the 2017 Si of Relief Climb for Time celebrate at the base of the base of the first scramble of the 4,167-foot peak in Washington state.

The race is considered one of the most challenging vertical trail-races in Washington state and in the spirit of running - it's free, says founder Mike McQuaid. "It's grueling," he says. "But the rewards are the accomplishment and those views from the top."

In 2019, James Roach, a former collegiate runner from Auburn, out-dueled Nick Herdt of Woodinville in the last mile to set a race-record of 48 minutes, 18 seconds from the trailhead to the finish at base of the 4,167-foot peak’s first scramble. Roach's winning time bested the 57-minute course record set in 2017 by some 18 minutes.

The 3,000 vertical-foot annual ascent of the popular hiking switchback located some 30 miles east of Seattle along I-90, get's underway the Mount Si trailhead at 9:30 a.m. and is free.

Since its inception in 2015, the Si of Relief Climb for Time has attracted trail runners from throughout the Puget Sound region, British Columbia, Canada and South Carolina.

A Washington State Parks Discover Pass is required for parking at the trailhead.

To learn more visit


All-Time Top Finishes - Si of Relief Climb for Time

2019 Top Finishers: Men's Open (overall winner) 1. *James Roach, Auburn, :48:18. Men's 20+ 1. Nick Hirdt, Woodinville, :52:07. Men's 30+ 1. Zach Daniels, Seattle, 1:06:08. Men's 40+ 1. Martin de Vrieze, West Seattle, 1:05:00. Men's 50+ 1. Mike McQuaid, Seattle, 1:06:08.

2018 Top Finishers: Women’s Open (overall winner) 1. **Karen Bond, North Vancouver, Canada, 1:03:29. 2. Melissa Kriza, Charleston, S.C. 1:33:00. Men’s Open 1. Nathan Magnusson, Seattle, 1:12:30. 2. Mike McQuaid, Seattle, 1:13:34.

2017 Top Finishers: Men’s Open (overall winner) 1. Arlo Siemsen, Redmond, 0:57:0. Women’s Open 1. Toni Carlstrom, Redmond, 1:04:00. Men’s 40+ Mike McQuaid, Seattle, 1:05:08. Men’s 20+ 1. Vishal Patel, Seattle, 1:10:51.

2016 Top Finishers: Men’s Open (overall winner) 1. Jim Sheehan, Seattle, 1:02:10. 2. Mike McQuaid, Seattle, 1:06:30.

2015 Top Finishers Men’s Open (overall winner) 1. Peter Erickson (Independent) Seattle, Wash. 1:00:45. Men’s 40+ 1. Mike McQuaid, Seattle, 1:08:05. Men’s 50+ 1. Jim Sheehan, Seattle, 1:02:21. Women’s Open 1. Holli Smith, Redmond, (no time recorded).

*All-time event record **All-time women's record

Getting to Mount Si From Seattle, follow Interstate 90 east to Exit 32, just east of North Bend. Turn north onto 436th Avenue Southeast and continue to its end at Southeast North Bend Way. Turn left. In .3 mile, turn right onto Southeast Mount Si Road. Follow it 2.4 miles to trailhead parking, on the left.

# # #



No comments posted yet.