Aconcagua Unassisted. Stupid?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for South America. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the South American Climbing Partners section.
Jason.

Aconcagua Unassisted. Stupid?

by Jason. » Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:37 pm

Greetings SummitPost brothers and sisters,
I'm hoping to solicit an opinion from you fine folks regarding my plan for Aconcagua. I'll try to be brief.

I have some climbing experience, some hiking experience, and some decent outdoorsy experience. That said, I've probably never been above 4000m so Aconcagua would be my first big mountain.

Ideally, I'd like to try the mountain in the first week of January. This gives me 300 days to train and get comfortable with my gear. At the moment, I'm living in Bogotá so there are lots of peaks to practice on.

However, I'd really, really like to summit Aconcagua without guides or mules. So my question is: am I cracked? This is where you come in you experienced, wizened, wisdomful ones. Do you think this can be done, assuming I've got a good head on my shoulders and take every precaution?

If so, I'd love to pick your brain about gear too.

Cheers!
Jason.

herdbull

Re: Aconcagua Unassisted. Stupid?

by herdbull » Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:21 pm

yes it can be done. don't know how much fun it would be. It would be a pretty good trek with a loaded pack if you could even get all of your gear in one pack. Plus it's hot & dry and can be blazing hot if it's clear and sunny. When I was there temps were in the 80's both days while trekking to Mulas. I think it's something like 18 miles from the park entrance to Mulas. Not saying it can't be done as there was 1 guy there doing just that when I was there. Can't imagine wearing double boots, with a huge loaded pack for 18 miles in 80 degree heat. But hey if you're up for it....