Carrying firearm while hiking

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar
firebirdude

Carrying firearm while hiking

by firebirdude » Thu Apr 07, 2016 3:43 am

I figured this topic had to have been discussed before, but the search turned up random political gun discussions. :ugeek:

How many of you carry a firearm of some kind with you while you're hiking? The old saying goes, rather carry one and not need one than need one and not have it.

And just so we're clear, it's for protection against animals. Not for humans. A bear might just get pissed off when hit, but I bet damn well I can put five hollow point .40s in him as he's taking me to the ground. That's going to be one hurt bear. Any anything smaller than that is done for.

boyblue

Re: Carrying firearm while hiking

by boyblue » Thu Apr 07, 2016 4:42 am

Never have and never will.

I've had 45+ years of hiking and backpacking experience and have never needed a firearm. There's been many close encounters with critters including rattlers and even a cougar. I've seen more bears than I can remember, but I've had 4 bear encounters that were actual confrontations. Three of them were with the bear and me about 6 or less feet apart. A couple of those encounters were because I inadvertently happened upon a sow and her cub. Oops! In all those close encounters I was scared s**tless, but followed the guidelines suggested by the park and faced them down while trying to appear large, loud and threatening. It worked! A firearm would have been useless and illegal (in National Parks, remember). You don't just hike a trail in a National Park with a holster and / or a rifle. Be brave and use your head.