How do avid climbers make a living?

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
BriannaNicole

How do avid climbers make a living?

by BriannaNicole » Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:04 pm

I am a college student who, like many others, is questioning what I want to do with my life, and if the path I'm currently on is the right one.
I really want to travel the world and climb mountains. There are so many places I want to see and summits I want to make, but I'm currently studying to become a doctor and a lot of times I don't feel like I'll ever have the time or ability to pursue my dreams. So, I've been thinking of alternate career choices.

I see a lot of people who are mountaineers/climbers/skiers etc. and do that stuff all the time. But I'm wondering, how do they have money to do this? To travel and buy equipment and live to be in the mountains all the time? How do they make a living?

Thank you to anyone who can help me understand this. If anyone also has suggestions to how I can combine my love for medicine and climbing, that would be great too!

Matt Lemke

Re: How do avid climbers make a living?

by Matt Lemke » Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:49 pm

Welcome to the club! I recently graduated from college where my love for climbing and travelling really took off. Before starting college I thought I wanted to get a job right away and work my way up.....blah blah blah

I started taking my interest in the outdoors to the next level and became friends with a bunch of mountaineers/climbers. Soon enough, all I wanted to do is climb and travel. The way I manage to be able to afford it was to completely re-evaluate what is needed in life. Growing up I was told of all the things you need to buy or have for a comfortable existence. Well, let me be the first to say that my parents were wrong about this subject.