Mt. Hood Question for ya'll

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Washington and Oregon. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Pacific Northwest Climbing Partners section.
tpendley4968

Mt. Hood Question for ya'll

by tpendley4968 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:03 pm

I am somewhat new to climbing (or you could call it backpack/hiking). I havn't yet graduated to crampons, ice axe, etc. I have summited several Cascade mountains without those items and without putting myself in danger (I've stayed away from north sister, Jefferson, etc). Been up Mt. Washington, Middle & South, Thielson, Diamond Peak and Matterhorn.

So my question is, is there a reasonably safe summer route up Mt. Hood that does not require the use of mountaineering tools? I am looking for a good summit hike. I enjoy hiking in, camping 1st night at a lake and then heading up in the morning. Is Hood out of the question?? Any other mountains come to mind?

Thanks

Todd

ExcitableBoy

Re: Mt. Hood Question for ya'll

by ExcitableBoy » Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:05 pm

Crampons and ice axe are recommended for all routes on Mt Hood.

mrchad9

by mrchad9 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:59 pm

You might be able to consider Mount Adams in the right conditions, certainly Lassen Peak and Mount Saint Helens. Don't go up Hood without an ice ax and knowing how to use it.

lcarreau

by lcarreau » Thu Feb 02, 2012 11:37 pm

I wouldn't classify or label any of the Cascade volcanoes as being "reasonably safe" ... but the Southern Spur route of Adams and Camp Muir from Paradise (on Rainier) are both relatively safe when done under the right conditions, particularly in fair weather and under cloudless skies.
"Turkey Vultures always vomit when they get nervous."

Brian Jenkins

by Brian Jenkins » Fri Feb 03, 2012 7:25 pm

My opinion, for what it's worth (of the ones you said you have not done and you only mention the Cascade volcanoes, nothing non-volcanic in the North Cascades so just sticking with the stratos):