Khumbu Cough Tips

Discussion of medical or rescue topics related to climbing and mountaineering.
stel87

Khumbu Cough Tips

by stel87 » Wed Jul 05, 2017 6:50 pm

I'm relatively new to trekking/mountaineering having only completed an Intro to Mountaineering course with Yamnuska Mountain Adventures in October (great program) and done some day hiking at altitude in the Rockies and Swiss Alps. I am interested in heading to Everest Base Camp and have come across the Khumbu Cough (high altitude cough) in my research. I would be interested to hear any experiences as well as tips on prevention and treatment. Are balaclavas/neck warmers and lozenges the only way to go?

Thank you.

cab

Re: Khumbu Cough Tips

by cab » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:14 pm

Try to keep a buff over your mouth and neck as much as possible. It will prevent dust from getting in and add a little humidity and warmth to the cold, dry air.

The following user would like to thank cab for this post
stel87, tigerlilly, Yank-Tank

no avatar
Yank-Tank

by Yank-Tank » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:54 am

I hear that is called that because of the smoke in some of the huts around the area on the way up there is so brutal.

fatdad

by fatdad » Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:40 pm