Pulse Oximetry - Aconcagua - Is it needed?

Discussion of medical or rescue topics related to climbing and mountaineering.
Pyroman9

Pulse Oximetry - Aconcagua - Is it needed?

by Pyroman9 » Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:57 pm

I am a EMT and planning to hike Aconcagua. I am taking care of the medical side of things for me and my climbing partner.

Do you think that a pulse oximeter is helpful to carry? Or should i just stick to the lines of if you can walk and talk, your doing ok?

What would be the lowest that you should expect a pulse oximetry at the summit?

radson

by radson » Thu Jun 18, 2009 10:29 pm

Pulse-ox's are certainly fun and a good way to pass the time as everyone compares their reading.

On the other hand I had a Pulse-Ox of 80 at 5,300m while having full-on HACE. My wife had a reading of 37 at 7,200 m and seemed fine.

From memory Aconcagua medics are fairly hard core with their pulse-ox, to the point of not letting people pass Plaza de Mulas if readings are too low.

Pyroman9

by Pyroman9 » Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:55 am

heh. Well considering they are not always accurate...

cold hands.. poor circulation... nail polish... bad wires... hell you can be CO poisoned and it will still read 100% O2 reading.... lol

i am still considering getting a small hand held one though.

Nikolas_A

by Nikolas_A » Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:47 pm

IAND, but from what I've read, it's more the trend that matters than the value itself.

Day Hiker

by Day Hiker » Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:26 pm

radson wrote:My wife had a reading of 37 at 7,200 m and seemed fine.

That had to be an incorrect reading. I hope someone who is more knowledgeable than me with medicine can verify my thoughts. Please do. But I think an accurate reading of 37 means you're pretty fucked and showing it.

HeyItsBen

by HeyItsBen » Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:42 pm

Day Hiker wrote: