Losing fingers or toes to frostbite...

Discussion of medical or rescue topics related to climbing and mountaineering.
thespiffy

Losing fingers or toes to frostbite...

by thespiffy » Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:38 pm

I was browsing some Alpinist content on their site and saw this photo;

http://www.alpinist.com/doc/ALP27

Which in turn lead me to wonder;

What is the recovery process when you find yourself in the unfortunate position of losing fingers or toes to frost bite?

How does it affect your climbing, might one have balance issues or require extensive physical therapy?

edit: typos

brokesomeribs

by brokesomeribs » Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:19 pm

Tommy Caldwell lost a finger to a table saw, and he is still crushing 5.14 free routes. There are plenty of high altitude mountaineers slogging their way up the Himalayas sans a couple toes. As long as you don't lose too many digits, you should be OK.

divnamite

by divnamite » Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:24 pm

I'm not a doctor, but I have heard amputation due to frostbite is a lot harder to recover from than from industrial or car accidents. Mainly due the extreme prolong nerve damages from frostbite. After the surgery, many patients have to relocate to warmer temp areas simply because the nerve system can't handle the cold, causing excrutiating pain to the patients.

sharperblue

the toes knows

by sharperblue » Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:32 am

I can't speak to amputations, but i can babble a bit about frostbite and frostnip after a F*ck-Up Supreme a few three years ago (which shall remain un-detailed in order to protect the innocent and the idiotic)