request for 2-3 day hikes from Anchorage or Juneau?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Canada and Alaska. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Canada and Alaska Climbing Partners forum.
no avatar
Lila

request for 2-3 day hikes from Anchorage or Juneau?

by Lila » Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:33 pm

Hello. Hoping for some suggestions / comments about a good 2-3 day hike from Juneau or Anchorage for the first week of May. I am travelling for work, and I need to book a ticket asap, and I'm considering adding a few days into the weekend to see some of the backcountry.

Regarding level of difficulty, I am competent, have ascended many 14ers in Colorado where I live, but I do not want to over-extend myself as I have no experience hiking or climbing in Alaska, and I am concerned about anything that would be hard to navigate (prefer an established trial) and I don't wish to be fjording rivers or taking on anything I am not familiar with....

I plan to bring basic winter camping gear and snow shoes and/or crampons/axe. I will be solo.

Thanks for your response!

no avatar
Lila

Kesugi Ridge Trail

by Lila » Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:34 pm

Ok, after a little research I am considering hiking the Kesugi Ridge Trail in Denali State Park. I would be hiking from May 5 -8th (approximate dates). Would any locals care to comment on that plan, weather, snow pack, or issues or planning items?

Thanks,

Lila

chugach mtn boy

by chugach mtn boy » Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:52 pm

I think the lack of responses so far may be because the first week of May is such a difficult time to advise about. It's a little like heading off into the Colorado 14ers in early May ... there's a whole range of challenges, starting with the fact that most trails are buried. You say no river crossings ... what if they are still frozen? Some will be.