Texhoma Newbie

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Great American Southwest. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Southwest US Climbing Partners section.
hippyman

Texhoma Newbie

by hippyman » Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:20 am

Hey, I just joined, and I'm kinda new to the whole camping/climbing scene. I live in the Texhoma area, and I was wondering if anyone around there would be willing to sort of train me. I have a few issues, but nothing that I'm not willing to work around. Please let me know.

hippyman

Re: Texhoma Newbie

by hippyman » Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:04 pm

Hey, thanx for the reply, I'll try and give u some idea of where I'm hoping to end up. I would eventually like to tackle the big peaks, however, I want to be able to go out as if in a survival situation(i.e. no tent or sleeping bag.) I know you can make a warm sleeping bag from just leaves and a garbage bag, and I've been reading up on making survival shelters. I eventually want to be the kind of person who can survive anywhere, with just whats on their back, if thats possible. I just need someone to help me get started.

surgent

by surgent » Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:59 pm

hippyman wrote:Hey, thanx for the reply, I'll try and give u some idea of where I'm hoping to end up. I would eventually like to tackle the big peaks, however, I want to be able to go out as if in a survival situation(i.e. no tent or sleeping bag.) I know you can make a warm sleeping bag from just leaves and a garbage bag, and I've been reading up on making survival shelters. I eventually want to be the kind of person who can survive anywhere, with just whats on their back, if thats possible. I just need someone to help me get started.

Well... train first, go into the wilderness first with the right gear so you know what the reality can be like. Build a library of experiences.

Then, if you still are hankering for some real survival knowledge, check out this guy:

http://www.codylundin.com/

(edit: fixing the url)