Entry Level - Italy North/Dolomites

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Europe. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Europe Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
stigja

Entry Level - Italy North/Dolomites

by stigja » Tue Sep 09, 2014 10:55 am

Hi, I'm going to Italy for a few days for a wedding, and I have just enough days so that I can slip out and go see some mountains. I'm new to the region, and I'm hoping to get to know the area a bit more, then come back for more serious trips. I won't be able to bring a lot of gear this time, so straight-forward peaks towards 3000m with no climbing and/or glacier-travel would be do-able. So suggestion for peak with a hike, maybe some easy scrambling that will make me fall in love with the area and inspire to new adventures :D

many thanks

damgaard

Re: Entry Level - Italy North/Dolomites

by damgaard » Sat Sep 13, 2014 7:04 pm

If you are going to Dolomites I would bring a helmet and via ferrate laynards (can be rented locally if you don't have it) and climb some of the many awesome via ferrata routes. A bit more advanced than scrambling but a quite safe way to get to 2.500 - 3.000 m summits. Some summits above 3.000 m as well.
Without via ferrata gear most 3.000+ m summits are difficult to climb in the Dolomites.

Easier 3.000 m summits in nothern Italy can be found in the Texel group on the border to Austria. First 1.000 m can be done with cablecar if you go in from the south near Merano.
http://www.summitpost.org/texel-group-g ... ssa/830104

The following user would like to thank damgaard for this post
stigja

rgg
Forum Moderator

by rgg » Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:15 am