Altimeter app

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar
Matis

Altimeter app

by Matis » Sat May 09, 2015 5:18 pm

Hello everybody!

I'm an app developer and a few times a year I also go climb mountains.
I noticed that most apps in the App Store that measure your height aren't accurate and really don't look good.
So, my question is if anyone would be interested in such an app and if so which features it should really include.
Feel free to drop all your thoughts below!
If their is enough interest I will make an accurate altimeter app, I already searched a bit on the internet and I'm convinced that making a really accurate altimeter app, that requires no internet, is possible.

Thanks in advance,
Matis

no avatar
ToOldForThis

Re: Altimeter app

by ToOldForThis » Mon May 11, 2015 9:45 pm

Total elevation gain and loss, current elevation, a means to adjust it based on known elevation.

The following user would like to thank ToOldForThis for this post
Zhang Bozheng

MoapaPk

by MoapaPk » Mon May 11, 2015 11:18 pm

Handheld GPS units by Garmin have good elevation estimates. The main trick is to get a good estimation of the geoid at the point of measurement. Considering that good estimates were made when a gps might have no more than 23 mb storage, they should be rather trivial with today's 1000x storage.

no avatar
JD

by JD » Mon May 11, 2015 11:39 pm

The same as what ToOldForThis said. Current elevation (displayable in feet or meters), a means to set the current elevation, and an accumulator function that adds up the gain/loss. Plus a way to store previous values, the last week, the last month or year and a way to clear those. An elapsed time feature would be handy. And a simple graphic display might be a nice touch.