Looking for a longer excursion

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
no avatar
charzini

Looking for a longer excursion

by charzini » Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:38 am

Hi everyone, I'm new to the site but I have a question I could use some advice with,

I'm a college student from NY and I'm looking for a trip I could do during my spring break mid-march in CA.
Ideally I would spend a few days camping on the mountain during the week and summit the mountain. I've looked at Mt Williamson but I'm not sure if there are camping options, nor what the climate is like in mid march.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what a good climb would be that would satisfy those conditions?

Thanks!

WyomingSummits

Re: Looking for a longer excursion

by WyomingSummits » Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:49 am

What is your climbing, hiking, winter hiking, navigating history? If you're just doing this on a whim I'd seriously reconsider it. March can be a treacherous time for the snowpack, although the Sierras are hurting in that dept.

no avatar
charzini

by charzini » Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:14 am

I have climbed mountains out east before and i have camped for extended periods of time, I am not unfamiliar with the concept I simply want to try and do this is in CA.

fedak

by fedak » Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:30 am

How much winter mountaineering experience/gear do you have?

If the answer to that is "minimal" you probably want to stick to the lowlands where you won't encounter snow.
(And/or dangerous snowmelt runoff, avalanche conditions, snowpack navigation, etc)

Channel Islands, Joshua Tree, Big Sur, Lost Coast, Big Basin, etc are all nice in March.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
http://www.fedak.net/backcountry.html

colinr

by colinr » Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:15 pm