Mountaineering pack for a newbie

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
shotsie18

Mountaineering pack for a newbie

by shotsie18 » Mon Nov 30, 2015 3:54 pm

Hey all im new to mountaineering and im planning a climb next year on Mt Baker in Washington. Im starting to get all my gear together now and im looking for some help in picking a pack. Ive looked online all over and find different brands/ packs everywhere. What do you all recommend or use? I was looking at the Mountain Hardware south col 70 and the BMG 105. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

ExcitableBoy

Re: Mountaineering pack for a newbie

by ExcitableBoy » Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:55 pm

Avoid Mountain Hardwear, period. Every piece of MH kit I have owned has fallen apart on me. 70 liters is far too large, as is 105. Those are expedition sized packs.

For Mt Baker (as well as other multiday alpine/mountaineering trips) look for a 50 liter alpine pack. Cold Cold World Cherynobyl, Gregory Alpinisto, and Crux AK 47 are all top choices. Black Diamond, Montbel, and ArcTeryx all make appropriate packs as well.

The biggest mistake (har, har) that newbies make when purchasing a pack is buying too big a pack with too many features. Keep it simple. Avoid packs with overly padded hip belts, unnecessary pockets, zippers or other do dads.

no avatar
shotsie18

by shotsie18 » Mon Nov 30, 2015 5:19 pm

ExcitableBoy wrote:Avoid Mountain Hardwear, period. Every piece of MH kit I have owned has fallen apart on me. 70 liters is far too large, as is 105. Those are expedition sized packs.

For Mt Baker (as well as other multiday alpine/mountaineering trips) look for a 50 liter alpine pack. Cold Cold World Cherynobyl, Gregory Alpinisto, and Crux AK 47 are all top choices. Black Diamond, Montbel, and ArcTeryx all make appropriate packs as well.