Another "which pack" question-Winter Mountaineering

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
Migolito

Another "which pack" question-Winter Mountaineering

by Migolito » Fri Jun 17, 2016 11:54 pm

I'm new to winter mountaineering. I have summer packs that I like, but, they are too small for my winter gear(48l). I'm looking at something in the 60-70 liter range that can comfortably carry 50 lbs. I'll be using this for winter only and plan to do 2-3 day trips. On my radar is the Cilogear 70l, Black Diamond Mission 75, Lowe Alpine Metanoia 65, Mountain Hardwear S-Col 70. Any other suggestions are welcome. Who has firsthand experience with these packs?

infinityjellyD

Re: Another "which pack" question-Winter Mountaineering

by infinityjellyD » Sat Jun 18, 2016 1:58 pm

I'll try to give some input as I've used most of the packs you're mentioning:

I have a Cilogear Worksack 30L and can attest to CG's quality and the company's good service/support. I didn't know they had a 70L--do you mean the 60L or the 75L Worksack? In any case, their smaller packs use foam pads and I'm not sure how robust the suspension is in the larger ones (the webpage mentions upgrades, it's hard to understand what they mean without trying the pack), so they may be insufficient if you plan to carry 50 lbs for extended distances. Regardless, if you are okay with the foam pad support, I would recommend a ColdColdWorld Chernobyl 50L. It is my go-to pack for every time I need something more than a 25-30L daypack.

When I need to carry big loads to a basecamp or something, I use my BD Mission 75L. Comfortable, simple design, and generally well made. There are a few design things that I'm not sure I love, but overall it's a good hauling pack with no frills. I've used it with probably up to 60 lbs for 12-15km. Not the best hiking scenario, but no back pain or the like. Shoulder straps could be padded better.