Suggestions for Mountain Climbing App

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar
Zhang Bozheng

Suggestions for Mountain Climbing App

by Zhang Bozheng » Sat Dec 12, 2015 10:43 am

Greetings to my friends. My name is Zhang Bozheng, and I am an App Developer making a mountain climbing app. What are the features that you all would like to see in such an app?

Currently I have
GPS Altitude,
Distance travelled on the ground,
Vertical speed and average vertical speed and
Ground speed.

The app will also include the ability to save your climbs.

Thank you very much :D

nartreb

Re: Suggestions for Mountain Climbing App

by nartreb » Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:34 pm

Because when I'm climbing, what I really want is to carry a device that's not waterproof or shock-proof, has minutes of battery life, won't work in the cold, won't fit in my pocket, doesn't have a lanyard, can't really be used with one hand or with gloves on, is useless in bright sunshine, and is not particularly accurate. Can you please make sure your app only works with really expensive phones? That'd be even better. If I have to go to the store to replace it every time it gets wet, I want to spend lots of money to make sure the trip is worth it.

ExcitableBoy

by ExcitableBoy » Mon Dec 14, 2015 7:04 pm

The app you describe already exists, it is called Strava.

In my mind a useful phone app would display climbing routes in my near vicinity ( perhaps within a user defined radius), maybe using SummitPost, Mountain Project, etc. as the data sources, mountain weather data and forecasts for the near vicinity, and contact information (links to webs sites, phone numbers) for the relevant land management authorities (National Park Rangers, BLM Management, etc.). The app would also display any avalanche conditions for the near vicinity. The app would display a high resolution topographical map indicating my present position with overlays of existing known routes.