What are to motivations for you to climb mountains?

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
NGraham

What are to motivations for you to climb mountains?

by NGraham » Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:04 am

I am a student at Massey University, New Zealand. I have just begun my final-year project for a Bachelor of Design (Industrial Design).

I just want to know what are your motivations for climbing mountains?

• The project looks into mountain safety within high-altitude environments. It is a research-based project that is looking for new design opportunities within the mountaineering sector. It will also look at the user experience and ways in which this can be developed or improved.
• If you wish to answer the question below you are most welcome to.

* Posting an answer implies consent, that your answer may be used in my research project.

Thanks for your time.

Nick Graham

Josh Lewis

Re: What are to motivations for you to climb mountains?

by Josh Lewis » Thu Mar 31, 2011 9:07 am

I climb Mountains because of the adventure and experience. I am someone who does not and probably will not live a casual life, I need excitement, and need a escape from the life I live at home. Mountaineering for me is the real deal, home life (school and such) feels kinda phony at times, but when on a adventure I feel more alive, more free spirited. Sure there's good views, good exercise and all that good stuff, but if your not having the time of your life in the mountains, your not fully experiencing what is out there.

drpw

by drpw » Thu Mar 31, 2011 3:44 pm

a) to get to the top
b) to get the girls

lcarreau

by lcarreau » Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:43 pm

My intention is to get a small taste of what's out there, and report back what I learned to those who might follow.

As a small child, I spent way too much time in front of the television and going to movies. Actually, there's MUCH BETTER ways to spend one's time.