Alpine Boots

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
DAS

Alpine Boots

by DAS » Sat Dec 19, 2009 12:36 am

I am new to alpine mountaineering and am interested in buying a good multi-purpose boot. My intended uses will be primarily summer (May - September?) alpine routes in the Cascades (ideally glaciated, moderate rock) and also ice climbing in the winter in the midwest.

I would love to hear if anyone has any recommendations on a boot that is a good general mountaineering boot and also can be an effective ice climbing boot for a newbie. I have an average to slightly wide foot and typically do not have trouble with cold feet until I get down around 10 degrees or less and am not moving.

I used plastics (Invernos) for a recent guided Shuksan Sulphide glacier climb but came away with an infection due to ankle damage. I've read all the posts on SP, and it seems like Sportivas are common. I've been eyeing the Trango Extreme Evos, but have not seen many reviews on this boot (particularly if people think it's warm enough for ice climbing). Any other thoughts / ideas would be welcome - thanks!

brandon

by brandon » Sat Dec 19, 2009 12:40 am

Sportiva boots generally fit narrow and low volume feet the best. Scarpa make really nice boots also, and they tend to fit wide and higher volume feet better.

A good boot fitter can work wonders on a boot for you that doesn't quite fit.

mtngrl

by mtngrl » Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:56 pm

I have a pair of Kayland's. Fit great and are warm. I've used them in the Cascades late summer (a little warm for the hike in) and in the winter in the Daks and the Whites (NH) for climbing and hiking.

Check out sierratrader.com. They are carrying a lot of mountaineering boots now and at some good prices.
Zappo's occasionally has mountaineering boots, too.

WML

by WML » Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:05 am

Nepal Evos. Excellent boot unless you're climbing outside of the lower 48.

rockymtnclimber