Ecuador volcanoes - boots recommendation

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
katty007

Ecuador volcanoes - boots recommendation

by katty007 » Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:46 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to mountaineering and will be attempting the 3 highest volcanoes in Ecuador over Christmas. I'd like to hear your recommendations for a good boot for this trip and also for subsequent trips in similar conditions, e.g. Mont Blanc, Elbrus etc.

I'd like to hear in particular if you have successfully summitted any of the three and also from the ladies! I should disclose that as a young lady, I am very prone to the cold and particular cold hands and feet so warmth is a bigger factor for me than e.g. the weight of the boot.

Thanks in advance!

ScottyP

Re: Ecuador volcanoes - boots recommendation

by ScottyP » Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:22 pm

I don't think there is any question that brings out opinions here more than boot choice! What ever boot you chose, do so soon as you will want a month of hiking in them prior to your trip. I ended up with Spantiks due to
1) got a killer deal on them $270
2) they will climb all that I plan on, Denali, aco, Elbrus etc
3) they fit my feet and cold level well

Good luck!

ARosenthal

by ARosenthal » Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:57 pm

katty007 wrote:Hi everyone,

I'm new to mountaineering and will be attempting the 3 highest volcanoes in Ecuador over Christmas. I'd like to hear your recommendations for a good boot for this trip and also for subsequent trips in similar conditions, e.g. Mont Blanc, Elbrus etc.

I'd like to hear in particular if you have successfully summitted any of the three and also from the ladies! I should disclose that as a young lady, I am very prone to the cold and particular cold hands and feet so warmth is a bigger factor for me than e.g. the weight of the boot.

Thanks in advance!