Good Books

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar

Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 3:02 pm
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post

Good Books

by tylosaurus » Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:34 pm

I've previsouly read Krakaur's books "Into the Wild" and "Into thin air". I loved them. does anyone else know of some equally good, or better books like these? Fiction or non-fiction.


User Avatar

Posts: 2242
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 12:34 pm
Thanked: 18 times in 18 posts

Re: Good Books

by b. » Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:42 pm

Touching the Void - Joe Simpson
The White Spider - Heinrich Harrar
Alone at the Summit (?) - Stephen Venables
The Crystal Horizon - Messner (lighter reading than the whole thing about first solo ascent of Everest).

User Avatar

Posts: 6256
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 6:02 pm
Thanked: 85 times in 65 posts

Re: Good Books

by desainme » Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:42 pm

Krakaur's "Eiger Dreams" recounts his solo ascent of the Devils Thumb
Whymper's "Scrambles amongst the Alps"
Rebuffat "Starlight and Storm"
David Roberts' books

User Avatar

Posts: 3914
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 9:13 pm
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post

Re: Good Books

by Misha » Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:44 pm

Recently, I enjoyed "Addicted to Danger" my Jim Wickwire and "Stories Off the Wall" by John Roskelley. Steve Roper's "Camp 4" is an enjoyable read if you want to learn more about Yosemite climbing. "In the Shadow of Denali" by Jon Waterman was excellent! Still trying to trace a copy of Layton Kor's book. If anybody has it for $150 or less, let me know.

User Avatar
Layne Bracy

Posts: 540
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:43 pm
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post

Re: Good Books

by Layne Bracy » Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:54 pm

<a href = "">The Long Walk</a>

Story of escapees from a Siberian prison camp who attempt to trek to India.

<a href="">Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage</a>

Unbelievable escape from the Antarctic ice pack.

<a href="">In the Land of White Death</a>

The Arctic version of Shackleton's epic.

User Avatar
Cy Kaicener

Posts: 4721
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 10:59 pm
Thanked: 387 times in 345 posts

Re: Good Books

by Cy Kaicener » Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:04 am

Here is a big list to choose from <a href=></a>

User Avatar
Dow Williams

Posts: 2345
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 1:59 pm
Thanked: 219 times in 101 posts

Re: Good Books

by Dow Williams » Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:08 am

The Long Walk, Layne's link above, is the best (true story) survival book of all time in my opinion. I plan on following their footsteps when and if I am willing to take six months off of climbing. We Die Alone is another along the same lines.

User Avatar

Posts: 2796
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 1:03 pm
Thanked: 11 times in 10 posts

Re: Good Books

by Diggler » Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:23 am

* A Most Hostile Mountain by Jonathan Waterman- about his attempt to do Mt. St. Elias in the style of the FAionists. He has a great sense of humour.

If you're interested at all in getting a Sierra Nevada alpine rock guide, get Peter Croft's The Good, The Great, & The Awesome. Great guide book, but it also has an anecdote (frequently quite amusing) for each climb.

Haven't read it yet, but have heard An Ascent of Rumdoodle is supposed to be pretty funny.

User Avatar
Rob A

Posts: 2342
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:49 pm
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post

Re: Good Books

by Rob A » Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:01 am

"One Man's Wilderness, An Alaskan Odyssey" by Sam Keith
is based on the Journals and Photos of Richard Proenneke of his 16 month adventure in what is now is part of Lake Clark National Park. He built his own cabin lived off the land as much as he could for 16 months until a family emergency forced him to spend only summers there. I just finished reading it and it is very good.
Later, Rob

User Avatar

Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 2:05 pm
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post

Re: Good Books

by jasonburton » Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:06 am

Craig Childs:
_Secret Knowledge of Water_
_Soul of Nowhere_

What about Kerouacs _Dharma Bums_ ? It has some good mountain stuff in it.

John Muir _Mountaineering Essays_

The following user would like to thank jasonburton for this post

User Avatar

Posts: 2594
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 2:07 pm
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post

Re: Good Books

by Nelson » Thu Aug 25, 2005 3:15 am

<i>..most of the good mountaineering books have already been mentioned</i>

I beg to differ, Anita! :) Here are three that I guarantee anyone will enjoy:

<i><b>Karakoram</b></i> by Fosco Maraini. The first ascent of Gasherbrum iV, probably the hardest high altitude climbing done at the time, written by a gifted scholar. Beautifully poetic writing at times.

<i><b>The Last Blue Mountain</b></i> by Ralph Barker. A tragic attempt on Haramosh, in the vein of Touching the Void or Into Thin Air, but 30 years earlier.

<i><b>No Picnic on Mount Kenya</b></i> by Felice Benuzzi. The author and his partners escape from a British prison camp for an attempt on Kenya, and then must sneak back into prison. All part of the plan. Crampons and ice axes were made from scraps of metal they could find. Read the book!

The above are either on used book sites or have been reissued in paperback.

I could go on and on....

.. oh, right now I'm into Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.


Return to General


  • Related topics
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests