How do I climb?

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
atomiccows1

How do I climb?

by atomiccows1 » Sat May 24, 2014 3:01 am

So basically I'm a complete novice. I have a fair amount of backpacking experience, but I was in college for the last 4ish years in an area with no nearby natural rock, and only have gotten out a handful of times. I haven't even been a consistent gym climber in that time frame, so while I think I could send a top rope 5.8, that's probably my current limit.

I have a teensy bit of experience building anchors. Enough that I have been able to set up a couple of top rope climbs independently, but I would feel a lot more comfortable if I had someone with more experience than me looking over my set-ups so that I don't get myself or anyone else that I'm climbing with killed.

I have a trad rack that includes some nuts and hexes that I've started playing around with at the bottom of some nearby crags.

I recently moved out to Colorado, and the mountains here are HUGE. If not a little intimidating to my mostly virgin eyes. Even hiking seems daunting when you're gaining 3000+ feet of vert in a day. I also don't really know anyone out here yet.

Essentially, I just want to know how other climbers got into climbing, how they learned, and if anyone has any suggestions or sage advice to give me. I'm really broke because "recent college grad" but it seems like taking a couple of classes with an outfitter might be a decent way to get started. Also if anyone is out in the Crested Butte area, or near Gunnison I will be out that way later this summer (early July) for a job, and would be interested in getting in contact with you.

Fletch

Re: How do I climb?

by Fletch » Sat May 24, 2014 8:10 am

I'd say you are already ahead of most climbers, because it sounds like you at least know what you don't know-which is everything!