Introduction and Novice advice?

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
JLThompson03

Introduction and Novice advice?

by JLThompson03 » Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:43 am

Hello All,

My name is Justin, I am a novice climber returning to the fun after almost 15 years away. My limited experience was gained in the Marine Corps in the years before 9/11 when I would spend my spare time hiking and climbing SoCal. I was trained as an assault climber by the Corps and also a HRST master, but that was many moons ago. I want to get active again and get back in shape. I broke two vertebrae in my back while on active duty and it ended my career. My weight went through the roof from a fighting weight of 175 lbs to 260lbs, and I was slowly killing myself with nasty food and no exercise. I rehabbed my back, but was still overweight and out of shape.

I decided to make a change last year and began loosely following a paleo diet, and getting more exercise. I began training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, got my weight to 210, and moved my family to Alaska for work. This brings me to the point, I want to get back to climbing and have a dream of one day standing on the summits of Mt Hayes and Mt Deborah at a fit and lean 175 lbs. I see them from my office every day and they call to me, but I am lost as to where I should start? My limited climbing was done with a partner in warm climates, and usually consisted of a lot more abseiling. I know it is a tall order but I am not going anywhere, and neither are the mountains. I am considering taking the 6 day class with AMS in Talkeetna this coming summer, but that is still up in the air. Anyone out there familiar with the north side of the Alaska Range and what peaks near Donnelly Dome would be good for learning and training? Thanks All.

reboyles

Re: Introduction and Novice advice?

by reboyles » Sun Dec 06, 2015 12:06 pm