Knee Pads

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
David Senesac

Knee Pads

by David Senesac » Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:42 pm

Any here use knee pads out while climbing or out in the backcountry? If so when, for what, what type of knee pads like brand. I do see some climbing chimneys have put them to use.

I'm more a photographer that has been in the Sierra Nevada backcountry a lot over decades rather than climbing that I only ever dabble in. Lots of backpacking and day hiking including much off trail rambling carrying heavy packs. And knee pads for this person are very useful when going through difficult terrain like talus and down logs etc where one can use a knee. And of course as a photographer I'm often low to the ground especially for close-up work for small stuff at ground level like wildflowers and slithering critters.

For a least a couple decades have worn knee pads about 90% of the time after leaving roads and that includes while carrying up packs even on a trail when I really don't need to. Am aware few others have even ever put a pair of knee pads on (please no jokes folks ) :lol: . I don't use the usual models that people that do outdoor work like construction and gardening use that are typically weighty with a hard plastic surface in front and thick foam behind. Such pads usually cost $15 to $40 bucks and are likely to get in the way of someone climbing rock. No instead use the cheapest lightest models that least affect movement to the extent one hardly is aware they are on. One result of doing so is I am used to using my knees more monkeying about on rock. Normally one develops a habit of being gentle when pushing their knee up against hard or uneven surfaces and wearing a knee pad changes that.