Mont Blanc with a tent

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Europe. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Europe Climbing Partners section.
visentin

by visentin » Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:36 am

Without being a Mont Blanc expert, I am quite dubitative when I read your plan...

phlipdascrip

by phlipdascrip » Fri Apr 02, 2010 1:10 pm

Do you want to tent near the Vallot hut? The hut itself is an emergency hut and should be reserved for emergencies. You're also risking a sleepless night at that altitude.

You do can "bivvy" near the Tete Rousse and the Gouter huts, tents allowed, "camping" is forbidden though. Go figure.
You can see tents near the Tete Rousse hut on this pic:
http://www.summitpost.org/view_object.php?object_id=546995
And near the Gouter hut:
http://www.summitpost.org/image/298286/154225/camp-on-aiguille-du-gouter.html
http://www.summitpost.org/image/333607/154225/aiguille-du-go-ter.html

Day 1 - no idea, most ppl go at least to the Tete Rousse hut.

Gabriele Roth

by Gabriele Roth » Fri Apr 02, 2010 1:44 pm

you can sleep everywhere in a tent ..
the only important thing is to be able to wake up again :D

JackCarr

by JackCarr » Fri Apr 02, 2010 3:27 pm

To me, there is no benefit whatsoever from sleeping in/camping near the Vallot Hut, it's all of about an hour from the summit. I doubt you'd sleep at that altitude either as you won't have been climbing at it. If you see bad weather from the Tete Rouse or Gouter, you can stay away and wait till the next day, if you see bad weather from the Vallot, you're in the middle of it!

If you want to do it slow and make sure you summit (which can't be guaranteed no matter what precautions you take because the weather might be awful for two weeks or more) I suggest you come up with a very good acclimatisation schedule and make sure you get over 4000m at least once before you attempt Mont Blanc itself.

Charles

by Charles » Sun Apr 04, 2010 12:48 pm