Layering with a helmet.

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
papienka

Layering with a helmet.

by papienka » Sun Sep 18, 2016 11:56 pm

I apologize upfront if the question is too basic for this forum. I am just getting into the sport, and I'm still at the stage of slowly assembling all the required gear. Which layers do you get with vs. without a hood, and how do you stack them all together? The general recommendation seems to be to get everything with a hood, and to stack things on top of one-another.

Here's the combination I've tried, assuming the worst conditions when all layers are used:
- a base layer, no hood
- light mid-layer (Patagonia R1) with a hood on top of the base layer
- thicker mid-layer (Patagonia Nano Air) with a hood, on top of the R1, the hood goes on top of the R1 hood
- ( there isn't really space for a hat, so no hat when wearing all of the above )
- a helmet goes on top of both of the mid-layer hoods
- a soft shell with a hood, the hood goes on top of the helmet
- hard shell and/or down parka, both with hood, the hood(s) go on top of soft shell and on top of the helmet

I've tried the above with several of the down belay parkas recommended for mountaineering, and I found that even if I size up, there's usually not enough room around the neck area to fully zip up everything, and no chance of turning my head either left or right.

Clearly, I must be doing something wrong.

ExcitableBoy

Re: Layering with a helmet.

by ExcitableBoy » Mon Sep 19, 2016 1:34 am

Base layer, fleece mid layer, light puffy, soft shell, hard shell, down parka and a belay parka? Way too many layers.