Starting A Business

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Asia. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Asia Climbing Partners section.
Jerry L

Starting A Business

by Jerry L » Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:55 pm

I'm in the early stages of trying to start a guiding business in Asia. I'm looking for any tips that someone else might give to help me through the process. I'll have a partner based in China. I met with both my attorney and accountant for past buisnesses and they really don't have a clue. I thought I'd throw it out there and see what came up. Thanks.

Jerry

no avatar
icescrew

A few thoughts

by icescrew » Sat Dec 09, 2006 6:28 pm

I am an attorney and climber and I have helped friends start outdoor businesses.

From a business standpoint, write a business plan. You will need to identify your market, customers, competition, and all of the steps you need to perform to be successful, make a budget, etc. Don't try to do it all yourself. Hire good people as soon as you can afford it.

From the marketing standpoint, build a strong web presence and get a good trademark. Publish some articles (even better, a book), get in the media, and give some talks on trips you have done or give free seminars.

From the liability standpoint, form an LLC, get insurance, have all of your clients sign a waiver, and be careful.

Good luck and have fun.

Jerry L

by Jerry L » Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:14 pm

Thanks Icescrew. Actually I was looking for information regarding operating a business in China. I've been self employed since 1989 (3 different businesses), but always in the states. I know absolutely nothing about starting a business abroad. I thought by posting on the Asia thread, I might connect with someone that's been through some of the hurdles and may lend some advice.

cosmin

by cosmin » Mon Dec 11, 2006 5:54 am

Hi Jerry,