Feeling it out and testing the water...Orizaba

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Mexico Climbing Partners section.
tobrien

Feeling it out and testing the water...Orizaba

by tobrien » Fri Jan 04, 2008 6:51 am

A friend and I are hoping to rendezvous in Mexico City and summit two of the volcanoes there. I am a teacher and he is a friend from the Peace Corps. We are putting together a tight schedule due to the restrictions of my job. Right now we are testing the water to see if our itinerary is ambitious, too ambitious or flat out crazy. We are hoping that some people more familiar with these peaks could give us some feedback and let us know if we can pull off this long weekend for the ages.
<b>
FEB 2008
14th - fly in to Mexico City early AM head straight to Iztaccihuatl (17,343 feet). Climb to high camp to spend the night.
15th - summit Iztaccihuatl early AM, descend, and the head to Orizaba base
16th - climb to high shelter on Orizaba
17th - summit in early AM, descend. Stay in big town near Orizaba?
18th - TO heads to Mexico City to fly out in the afternoon and BL heads East.</b>

Thanks for honest and helpful feedback!

Climb high,

TO

PS If you are interested in joining we are open to new members of the party so hit me up.

Baltistan Adventure

by Baltistan Adventure » Fri Jan 04, 2008 7:03 am

Do you and your friend always never need altitude acclimation when climbing high mountains?

Are you and your friend immune to mountain sickness?

Are you and your friend always lucky with ideal weather conditions when you travel?

I'd join you but I was just at Citlatepetl and Iztaccihuatl.

8)

Haliku

Re: Feeling it out and testing the water...Orizaba

by Haliku » Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:01 pm

bird wrote:Even living at 7,000 feet, this is too ambitious IMO. If this is the only time you have, skip Izta and try something like this...
14 Mexico City go to Tlachichuca